Board of directors 

Sir Peter Gershon CBE


Joined the Board as an independent Non-Executive Director and Chairman Designate in February 2009. Appointed Chairman in July 2009. Sir Peter has broad business experience gained in large and complex international organisations and has held various leadership roles in the UK private and public sector. He was formerly Chairman of Premier Farnell plc; Chief Executive of the Office of Government Commerce; Managing Director of Marconi Electronic Systems; and a member of the UK Defence Academy Advisory Board. Currently Chairman of National Grid plc, a member of HM Government Efficiency and Reform Board, Chairman of the Aircraft Carrier Alliance and a member of the advisory board of The Sutton Trust.

Sir Peter is the Chairman of the Nominations Committee and a member of the CR and Remuneration Committees.

Javed Ahmed

Chief Executive

Joined the Board as Chief Executive in October 2009. Javed has extensive international experience from a wide variety of senior management roles. He started his career with Procter & Gamble and then spent five years with Bain & Co. before joining Benckiser (later Reckitt Benckiser plc) in 1992 where he gained significant experience of international consumer goods markets and held positions including Senior Vice President, Northern Europe; President, North America; Executive Vice President, North America, Australia and New Zealand; and Executive Vice President, Europe. Currently a member of Mosaic Advisory Board.

Javed is a member of the Nominations Committee.

Nick Hampton

Chief Financial Officer

Joined the Board in September 2014 as Chief Financial Officer. Nick started his career in 1989 with the management consultancy firm, Monitor, where he spent five years. In 1994, Nick joined PepsiCo where he spent a number of years in strategy and planning roles in Europe, the Middle East and Africa. After a period serving in procurement and logistics, in 2002 he was appointed Vice President, Operations for Walkers Snack Foods. In 2004, he was appointed Vice President Operations for PepsiCo UK and Ireland, and in 2005 added the role of Chief Financial Officer for the same area. In 2008, he became Senior Vice President and Chief Financial Officer, Europe, a position he held until 2013 when he was appointed PepsiCo’s President West Europe Region and Senior Vice President Commercial, Europe. Nick holds a Master’s Degree in Chemistry from St. John’s College, Oxford University.

Liz Airey

Senior Independent Director

Joined the Board in January 2007. Liz was an investment banker and has extensive financial experience in the UK and internationally. She was formerly Finance Director of Monument Oil and Gas plc. Currently Chairman of Jupiter Fund Management PLC, and Senior Independent Director of Dunedin Enterprise Investment Trust PLC.

Liz is a member of the Audit and Nominations Committees.

William Camp

Independent non-executive director

Joined the Board in May 2010. Bill worked for 22 years for Archer Daniels Midland Company, before retiring in 2007, and held a variety of management positions including Executive Vice President, Asia Strategy; Executive Vice President, Processing; and Senior Vice President, Global Oil Seeds, Cocoa and Wheat Milling. Currently a senior advisor of Naxos Capital and a Director of Culligan International.

Bill is Chairman of the CR Committee and a member of the Remuneration and Nominations Committees.

Paul Forman

Independent non-executive director

Joined the Board in January 2015. Paul is Group Chief Executive of Coats Group plc, the leading global industrial thread and consumer textiles crafts business. Prior to joining Coats in 2009, he was Group Chief Executive or Low & Bonar PLC, a global performance materials group, and was previously Managing Director at Unipart International, a leading European automative aftermarket supplier. Paul also served as a non-executive director at Brammer PLC from 2006 to 2010.

Paul is a member of the Audit, Nominations and Remuneration Committees.

Lars Frederiksen

Independent non-executive director

Lars joined the Board on 1 April 2016. He was CEO of Chr. Hansen Holding A/S from 2005 until his retirement in March 2013, leading a transformation of the business and a successful listing on the Copenhagen stock exchange during that period. Prior to his appointment as CEO, Lars held various management positions at Chr. Hansen, including Executive Vice President, International Operations, Executive Vice President, Bio Ingredients Division and Executive Vice President, Dairy Ingredients Division. He is based in Denmark and has a portfolio of directorships, including serving as Chairman of the Board and of the Compensation and Nomination Committees of Matas A/S, non-executive director of Falck A/S and Rockwool A/S and Chairman of the Danish Committee for Good Corporate Governance.

Lars is a member of the Remuneration, Corporate Responsibility and Nominations Committees.

Douglas Hurt

Independent non-executive director

Joined the Board in March 2010. Douglas is a Chartered Accountant. He held a number of financial and operational roles, including US and European senior management positions at GlaxoSmithKline before joining IMI plc and serving as Finance Director from 2006 until February 2015. He has been appointed as a non-executive director of Vesuvius plc with effect from 2 April 2015.

Douglas is the Chairman of the Audit Committee and a member of the CR and Nominations Committees.

Anne Minto OBE

Independent non-executive director

Joined the Board in December 2012. Anne was Group Director of Human Resources at Centrica plc from 2002 until her retirement in 2011. She previously held senior management roles at Shell UK and Smiths Group plc and was Deputy Director-General of the Engineering Employers’ Federation. Currently a non-executive director and Chairman of the Remuneration Committees of Shire PLC and ExlService Holdings, Inc., Vice Chairman of the University of Aberdeen Development Trust and a non-executive director of the Court of the University of Aberdeen.

Anne is the Chairman of the Remuneration Committee and a member of the Audit and Nominations Committees.

Dr Ajai Puri

Independent non-executive director

Joined the Board in April 2012. Ajai has a PhD in Food Science from the University of Maryland, USA and a MBA from Rollins College, Florida, USA. He was President – Research, Development and Product Integrity and a member of the Executive Board of Koninklijke Numico N.V. from 2003 to 2007. From 1981 to 2003, Ajai held various management positions with The Coca-Cola Company, culminating in Senior Vice President Technical, The Minute Maid Company. Currently a non-executive director of Barry Callebaut AG and non-executive director of Britannia Industries Limited.

Ajai is the Chairman of the Research Advisory Group and a member of the CR, Remuneration and Nominations Committees.

Sybella Stanley

Independent non-executive director

Sybella joined the Board on 1 April 2016. She is Director of Corporate Finance at RELX Group plc (formerly Reed Elsevier Group plc), where she is responsible for global mergers and acquisitions. Sybella originally qualified as a barrister and before joining RELX Group in 1997, she was a member of the M&A advisory teams at Citigroup and later Barings. Based in the UK, Sybella is a non-executive director of The Merchants Trust PLC, a member of the Department of Business, Innovation and Skills’ Industrial Development Advisory Board, a trustee of the Britten-Pears Foundation and a member of the Somerville College Oxford Development Board.

Sybella is a member of the Audit and Nominations Committees.